About Us

What is the National Space Grant Program?

  • Establish and maintain a national network of universities with interests and capabilities in aeronautics, space and related fields;
  • Encourage cooperative programs among universities, aerospace industry, and Federal, state and local governments;
  • Encourage interdisciplinary training, research and public service programs related to aerospace;
  • Recruit and train U.S. citizens, especially women, underrepresented minorities, and persons with disabilities, for careers in aerospace science and technology; and
  • Promote a strong science, mathematics, and technology education base from elementary through secondary levels.

When was the program created? How many states are in Space Grant?

Established by Congress in 1988 and implemented by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration in 1989, the National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program (also known as Space Grant) contributes to the nation's science enterprise by funding research, education, and public service projects through a national network of 52 university-based Space Grant consortia. These consortia administer programs in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. The consortia's 820 affiliates include 531 academic institutions and 80 businesses. Other partners include state and local government agencies, other federal agencies, and nonprofit organizations. Space Grant celebrates its 24th year of service in 2011. Since its inception, Space Grant has awarded over 12,000 U.S. citizens with tuition assistance in science, engineering, and related fields of study.

What is the Michigan Space Grant Consortium?

The vision and mission of the Michigan Space Grant Consortium are to foster awareness of, education in, and research on space-related science and technology in Michigan. Its mission is to create, develop, and promote programs that support its vision and reflect NASA strategic interests, and encourage cooperation between academia, industry, state and local government in space-related science and technology in Michigan.

MSGC Affiliate Institutions and Representatives

Professor Alec Gallimore is the director of the Michigan Space Grant Consortium. Affiliate institutions and representatives are as follows: Professor Jason Smolinski (Calvin College), Professor James Sheerin (Eastern Michigan University), Professor Bopaiah Biddanda (Grand Valley State University), Professor Peter Gonthier (Hope College), Professor Michael A. Velbel (Michigan State University), Dr. Lorelle Meadows (Michigan Technological University), Professor Laila Guessous (Oakland University), Professor Garry Johns (Saginaw Valley State University), Professor Jeffrey Potoff (Wayne State University), Professor Massood Z. Atashbar (Western Michigan University). MSGC Advisory Board members are as follows: Dr. Cinda-Sue Davis (University of Michigan) and Mr. Michael Madison (Ann Arbor Public Schools).

Previous page: Home
Next page: About the MSGC Director