About MSGC Director


Professor Moldwin’s primary research interests are magnetospheric, ionospheric and heliospheric plasma physics, and pre-college space science education and outreach. He has published a textbook and over 200 articles and essays (including over 170 refereed scientific articles) on these subjects. Dr. Moldwin was a NASA/ASEE Kennedy Space Center Faculty Fellow, a Los Alamos National Laboratory Associated Western Universities Faculty Fellow, and a NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Visiting Scientist. Professor Moldwin is a National Science Foundation CAREER Award winner and a Research Corporation Cottrell Scholar. Prof. Moldwin is or has been the principal or co-investigator of over 75 externally peer-reviewed scientific projects including building the magnetometers to fly on NASA’s Space Technology – 5 satellites, the upcoming Air Force DSX mission satellite, and ground-based magnetometerand GPS receiver deployment in North America, South America, Africa, Asia and Antarctica. Professor Mark is a co-founder of A2 Motus LLC an education technology company developing devices to enable teachers and students to better understand complex systems through kinesthetic activities.

Professor Moldwin has taught over a dozen different physics and space science courses, chaired or served on the dissertation committees of over 40 PhD students in Geophysics, Space Physics, Plasma Physics, Astronomy, Atmospheric Physics, Applied Physics and Electrical Engineering, was awarded Florida Tech’s Teaching Excellence Award, UCLA’s Academic Senate’s Distinguished Teaching Award, was rated as a Top Ten Professor by the Associated Student’s of UCLA, was awarded UM's Provost's Teaching Innovation Prize, the UM College of Engineering's Raymond J. and Monica E. Schultz Outreach and Diversity Award, UM's Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award and the UM College of Engineering's John F. Ulrich Education Excellence Award. He currently serves as a Faculty Associate of UM's Center for Research on Learning and Teaching in Engineering, a member of the National Center for Institutional Diversity UM Diversity Scholars Network, and a co-Chair of AGU's Education Affiliation Planning Committee. He was recognized for his "extraordinary service to geophysics" with the 2016 AGU Union Waldo E. Smith Award.