K-12 Educator Incentive Guidelines


The MSGC K-12 Educator Incentive Program Is designed to (I) support teachers to attend conferences and workshops on mathematics, science, and technology and engage in educational enhancement activities in mathematics, science, and technology; and (2) purchase materials and supplies for innovative instructional initiatives. Preference is given to activities directly related to NASA strategic interests, including aerospace, space science, Earth system science. Activities in other related science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields, including educational research topics in STEM, are also eligible for consideration. This program Is open to participation from K-12 teachers throughout the state. Women, under-represented minorities, and persons with disabilities are strongly encouraged to apply.

Program Period
Open throughout the year. Awards are distributed based on availability of NASA funding.

Awards
$400.00 maximum for conferences and workshops.
$200.00 maximum for materials and supplies.

Matching Funds
Matching funds are not being required for the 2019-2020 funding cycle. If cost-matching can be provided, please include a signed letter noting the details as documentation.

Reporting Requirement
A report describing the activity and what was brought back to the classroom is required within six months following the event. Copies of receipts demonstrating expenditures of the grant and matching funds toward the needs noted in the application should accompany the report.

Application Package
Synthesize the four components noted below into a single pdf and email to Brenda Vyletel (bvyletel@umich.edu). Do not send a hardcopy of your proposal package through the postal service. Letters and biographical information are each limited to 1 page using 11 point or 12 point font and 1” margins. Proposals that are incomplete or nonadherent to instructions will not be considered. Submit separate proposals if applying for both conference/workshops and supplies. Please contact Brenda Vyletel if you have any questions or concerns.

The application package consists of:

1. Completed application form.

2. Dated letter describing the activity in which the applicant wishes to participate, the dates of the activity, the amount of funding being requested, how the activity supports Space Grant objectives, and the source of the 1-to-1 match.

3. Dated letter of support from the principal of the school where the teacher is employed.

4. Applicant biographical information (cv).

Michigan Space Grant Consortium (Lead Institution)
Professor Mark Moldwin
Director
1418 Space Research Bldg.
2455 Hayward St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2143
Tel: (734) 647-3370
Email: mmoldwin@umich.edu

Affiliate Representatives
Calvin College:  Prof. Jason P. Smolinski, js85@calvin.edu
Eastern Michigan University:  Prof. James Sheerin, jsheerin@emich.edu
Grand Valley State University:  Prof. Bopi Biddanda, biddandb@gvsu.edu
Hope College:  Prof. Peter Gonthier, gonthier@hope.edu
Michigan State University:  Prof. Michael Velbel, velbel@msu.edu
Michigan Technological University:  Dr. Lorelle Meadows, lameadows@mtu.edu
Oakland University:  Prof. Laila Guessous, guessous@oakland.edu
Saginaw Valley State University:  Prof. Garry Johns, glj@svsu.edu
Wayne State University:  Prof. Darin Ellis, rdellis@wayne.edu
Western Michigan University:  Prof. Massood Atashbar, massood.atashbar@wmich.edu